LumberJocks

Outfeed problem with new G0634XP Combination Jointer/Planer

  • Advertise with us

« back to Power Tools, Hardware and Accessories forum

Forum topic by TGM posted 11-06-2019 10:39 PM 1447 views 0 times favorited 11 replies Add to Favorites Watch
View TGM's profile

TGM

3 posts in 3992 days


11-06-2019 10:39 PM

I am hoping someone out there can assist. After researching and deciding on the G0634XP Combination Jointer/Planer, I placed an order with Grizzly in late August. The machine was back ordered and we had some shipment delays. I finally received it the first week of October and anxiously set it up and started making some sawdust. To my dismay, the outfeed roller on the planer was leaving a pattern of dots in the wood. I’m not sure why, but the outfeed roller is a spring loaded knurled steel roller. I backed off the spring tension to zero and still got some marks. I’ll try to attach photos. I called Grizzly. I’ve never had issues with their product and found them solid and reputable. The first thing they told me was I had the wrong outfeed roller. The one on their show room floor was not knurled. Then a week later, they said it was the right one – they had changed the design. They would check with the engineers at the factory and get back to me. It has been several weeks and they say they are still waiting for the response but no one else has had this problem. So I’m in limbo. I splurged on a machine that is sitting idle because I can’t get a smooth surface from it.

Has anyone experienced this issue? Any suggestions on getting this resolved? As of now, Grizzly hasn’t been responsive. I don’t understand why they would make the outfeed roller with such an aggressive pattern. It defeats the purpose of those nice spiral carbide cutters. Have I missed something in setup? I’m sickened that I’ve spent so much money and this beast is just sitting there.


11 replies so far

View ibewjon's profile

ibewjon

2470 posts in 3905 days


#1 posted 11-06-2019 11:52 PM

Sure is a nice pattern. A great machine for making a non slip surface. Good luck, hope they can resolve it soon.

View Mike_in_STL's profile

Mike_in_STL

1418 posts in 1646 days


#2 posted 11-06-2019 11:55 PM

What is the infeed roller like? Can they be swapped? In for out, out for in?

-- Sawdust makes me whole --Mike in STL

View RDurantWorkshop's profile

RDurantWorkshop

5 posts in 343 days


#3 posted 07-03-2020 10:34 PM

I just fell for this same model, sadly. I even spent three hours on the phone with the sales agent, to verify that it had a rubber outfeed roller, the same as the description for the G0634z. And yet, the same roller as the one you are describing here. SOOOOOO disappointed in Grizzly. I just bought their 35th anniversary bandsaw. several thousands dollars for that order and all of the blades and more, and this order and board buddies and mobile bases and more. And their tech support sends an email that pretty much reads, too bad your read that, we got your money so sad for you nya nya. Soo angry now. It came dented and bent legs because the brackets holding it to the crate skid did not have bolts in them. The outfeed table is warped with the outside corner and inside corner, where it aligns with the cutterhead, are higher, noticeably, than the center of the table. Their reply, “it’s within standards, too bad. We will send a small thing of paint to fix the scratches, dents and bent leg. It’s not a finish planer, none of our planers are, you will have to sand.” I have a much better finish now with my $500 DeWalt 13” planer, that this $3,000 piece of equipment was supposed to replace!

-- @RDurantWorkshop on Youtube

View RDurantWorkshop's profile

RDurantWorkshop

5 posts in 343 days


#4 posted 10-11-2020 12:47 AM

Well, still waiting, but Grizzly promise, back in July 2020, to send me an updated rubber outfeed roller. It is still backordered, but they had me believing that a part of this sort would be in the hundreds of dollars. At least the first and second tech I talked to implied this, as for the reasoning they would not supply it as an alternative. This upset me greatly that a machine that is $4,000 would leave my workpiece so badly dented as your original post showed. Even on hardwood. So I emailed everyone I could at Grizzly to complain. That was when someone from corporate finally reached out and offered the rubber outfeed roller. Yesterday when I used the order number from the postcard, informing me it was backordered, to check on its status, the part number came up with a $39 price point! WOW! Ya, not all that happy with it, as it has been sitting there taking up valuable real estate in my workshop, NOT being used. Plus, when I originally called the techs about not being able to dial in the beds, thinking I was doing something wrong, they said that it was within spec. Really? having three teeth on the outfeed bed catching workpieces, and having lifts and valleys in the workpiece is within specs? Ya no. I” don’t have the money to freight it back, or to swallow the 15% restocking fee. So I am stuck. Not happy camper.

-- @RDurantWorkshop on Youtube

View CaptainKlutz's profile

CaptainKlutz

4528 posts in 2606 days


#5 posted 10-11-2020 04:33 AM

RDurantWorkshop Sorry to read about your challenges.

I would think spending 10% on return shipping, and losing 15% for restock, would be better than not using the tool? Getting 75% returned is better than nothing, or using a crap tool.

FWIW – Making machinery takes a long time. Normal overseas order to receipt cycle time for machinery is 5-9 months, without any delays for design time. Even if you pay air freight, it still takes 3 months to order fresh lot of steel and machine roller to shape. Then you have send it out for rubber coating.

Hate to see a tool IDLE?
If you care to solve the out feed roller issue yourself, there is a simple, yet more costly solution?
Find a local printing roller refurb shop, have them turn outfeed roller down, and bond rubber or polyurethane to roller. Folks do this all the time repairing machines. If you can’t find anyone local, try Western Roller, they have reasonable prices on custom work like this. Challenge with no-local work on heavy part is shipping costs each way are not cheap.

Best Luck.

-- If it wasn't for bad luck, I wouldn't have no luck at all, Doom, despair, agony on me… - Albert King - Born Under a Bad Sign released 1967

View xedos's profile

xedos

334 posts in 412 days


#6 posted 10-11-2020 09:13 PM

You guys should be in touch with your credit card co. to help return these machines. The one that’s damaged is a slam dunk. It’s DAMAGED, and unless you ordered a scratch and dent – it not what you ordered. The otHer one is not fit for purpose -therefore doesn’t work.

Do this TOMORROW.

View woodman71's profile

woodman71

199 posts in 4436 days


#7 posted 10-11-2020 11:27 PM

Well TGM and RDurantWorkshop sorry to hear your both have some many problems with Grizzly. Years go I bought a six jointer from Grizzly it work okay had problems with just kept use it and adjust it . The stand was crap it always flex when using it final got a new one delta six was happy. To your problem TGM you said (I backed off the spring tension to zero and still got some marks.) it sound me to your outfeed roller is to low are you have trouble with feed rate ? Check you bearing at end of the outfeed rollers see if there adjustment up or down your spring pressure could still be to high causing this because the outfeed roller is to low check your owner manual one more thing how bad of a snipe do you have if any. could it also be your infeed roller pressure could be to high and when the board exit the infeed roller the board is now coming up to a bit things to look at .

View xedos's profile

xedos

334 posts in 412 days


#8 posted 10-12-2020 12:37 AM

You guys should be in touch with your credit card co. to help return these machines. The one that’s damaged is a slam dunk. It’s DAMAGED, and unless you ordered a scratch and dent – it not what you ordered. The otHer one is not fit for purpose -therefore doesn’t work.

Do this TOMORROW.

View RDurantWorkshop's profile

RDurantWorkshop

5 posts in 343 days


#9 posted 10-12-2020 01:44 AM


RDurantWorkshop Sorry to read about your challenges.

I would think spending 10% on return shipping, and losing 15% for restock, would be better than not using the tool? Getting 75% returned is better than nothing, or using a crap tool.

FWIW – Making machinery takes a long time. Normal overseas order to receipt cycle time for machinery is 5-9 months, without any delays for design time. Even if you pay air freight, it still takes 3 months to order fresh lot of steel and machine roller to shape. Then you have send it out for rubber coating.

Hate to see a tool IDLE?
If you care to solve the out feed roller issue yourself, there is a simple, yet more costly solution?
Find a local printing roller refurb shop, have them turn outfeed roller down, and bond rubber or polyurethane to roller. Folks do this all the time repairing machines. If you can t find anyone local, try Western Roller, they have reasonable prices on custom work like this. Challenge with no-local work on heavy part is shipping costs each way are not cheap.

Best Luck.

- CaptainKlutz

The real point is that the reasoning the first two techs used to WHY they weren’t sending out replacement rubber outfeed rollers is because they would be several hundred dollars each. Whereas, when I followed up on the order # from the postcard saying it is still backordered, the part was listed as $39 for a rubber outfeed, to correct the imprint issue. The infeed roller is stilla huge steel roller with spiral ribbing, as you can see inTGM’s photos. But the issue was the imprinting of the outfeed roller. And $39 part should have been used before it left the factory. In fact, when I ordered the darn thing, I spent 3-5 hours on the phone, while the salesperson verified with several techs, that in fact the new model does indeed come with the rubber outfeed roller. But, of course, when it arrived, it did not have that. Then the rigamorole of all the crap listed above.

-- @RDurantWorkshop on Youtube

View therealSteveN's profile

therealSteveN

7997 posts in 1686 days


#10 posted 10-12-2020 02:46 AM

I believe it’s in the following vid, but it’s on one of the URHC’s videos for his 15” Grizz planer about the exact same issue caused by a metal feed roller with that impression on it. He got them to swap it for a rubber one, and problem went away. Since then he mentioned, that at least on that tool they had swapped to rubber only. Hearing that I bought one of the 15” planers, and I love it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiT5PRL9kLs

Ride Grizz like a rented Donkey, until they fix that obvious flaw some Chinese dignitary pushed off on them. Rubber rollers are state of the art. The old metal ones with a pattern went out a long time ago. It’s bad enough you will have to do the labor to fix their problem, if they won’t deal with it return the entire planer. If they talk about any fees resolve that through your credit card carrier. They get the $$$$$$$ pulled, and you still have the tool, all of a sudden they will get a lot more agreeable.

-- Think safe, be safe

View limepez's profile

limepez

1 post in 1068 days


#11 posted 04-13-2021 02:30 PM

Grizzly says they have fixed the problem as of January 2020. I will see if this is the case when I receive mine in May.

Dear Rob,

Thank you for your email dated April 9, 2021.

We appreciate your question about your Grizzly Order #XXXXXfor a G0634XP – 12” 5 HP Planer/Jointer with Helical Cutterhead-Polar Bear Series, click the link to view. Click on the following link to view the G0634XP manual. The Reference #206 – Outfeed Roller is currently P0634Z206V2- Outfeed Roller V2.01.20. This is version 2 of the roller and was implemented in January 2020. The version 1 part is steel, while the version 2 part is rubber-coated. All the current machines are shipping with rubber-coated outfeed rollers.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance. You are a valued customer and we look forward to serving your future woodworking and metalworking needs.

Sincerely,

Danny B.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to reply.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com