LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Lignomat, Electrophysics and Wagner seem to be three highly regarded brands in the US, but all seem to be up around $200 plus. There's lots of professional users, and lots of good info on the topic on Woodweb: http://www.woodweb.com/

As ever you can buy an eastern made meter for $30 - $50 depending on the deal you get, and people speak of getting good results with these too.

I can't make a recommendation as i've no experience yet of it in use, but i recently bought a Mini Ligno DX/C by Lignomat at just under $200 from Highland Woodworking - i paid the extra because it's the kind of thing i wanted to buy once and forget about, and i've had very mixed experience with buying cheap stuff over the years. It's certainly a very nicely made unit, it's German, and it has a well designed, strong and compact looking external housing.

I looked mostly at pin type meters. The Mini Ligno DX/C has a socket for an accessory accessory hammer in remote probe on a cable, and reads up to around 60% - both may be useful factors if you were ever thinking of going kiln drying - most of the cheaper units as far as i can remember read up only to around 20%. Ligno have a Mini Ligno with no probe socket and a narrower reading range which is cheaper.

As best i could bottom the issue the non contact type meters are (a) typically more expensive, and (b) good for scanning larger areas in a hurry; but they have limits such as depth of penetration and the possibility of being thrown out by surface contamination.