LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
I am new to woodworking, so this may sound like a dumb question… I have a couple large walnut slabs that that I am making into a kitchen table. The shop teacher at the local high school allowed me run the slabs through their planer and giant belt sander. I only took off as much as he recommended each pass, but the knots and and couple other spots have burn marks from the process. His parting comment was "Have fun sanding those out!" I have been sanding them for hours with 100 grit sand paper, but haven't reached much progress, if any at all…

Is there something that I am missing, or are those burned knots pretty much there for good? Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,735 Posts
Resurface and a little faster, Sanding out of the knot good luck. remember knots are harder than the rest of the wood. Going to to slow you will get burn marks. Shop teacher being a lot of help I see.

·
Registered
4,382 Posts
Try some mineral spirit on the surface and see if the burn marks blend in with the rest of the wood. If it doesn't, apply some water over the area to raise the grain and either use a scrape card or hand-sand it off.

·
Registered
2,198 Posts
It's always possible that the equipment isn't kept in optimal maintenance so running the boards again may not help at all. Planer knives can be dull and belts can get clogged. That's especially likely to be the case in a high school shop where budgets are tight and well-tuned equipment doesn't pay for itself.

I'd second the advice given by Mr. Jinx. Card scrapers are much faster than sandpaper.

·
Registered
389 Posts