LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
First I want to belatedly thank all the people who welcomed me to this site when I first signed up. I sure should'a done this sooner but I really don't do much posting. Not a good excuse. Apologies and thanks to you all.

I have to preface this by saying that I'm by no means a pro. I've made a few pieces of furniture for my home and a couple of pieces for people I know, but I'm not going to have any museum exhibits anytime soon. I'm getting much more enthusiastic about woodworking and learning more about it since I built my dedicted shop this past winter. For now, though, I'm gonna keep my day job.

I have always been frustrated with hand planes, no matter how carefully I try to sharpen them and set them up. I finally decided that maybe I got crappy results 'cause I was using crappy planes, or setting them up poorly. Or both! Garbage in; garbage out syndrome. Problem is, I don't own a power planer (donations accepted, good deal seriously considered) and I sometimes glue up panels that would be too wide anyway, so I NEED to plane or I'll have to buy stock in a sandpaper company. All the guys on the videocasts and TV make it look easy, so I had to do something. I recently discovered the joys of using card scrapers and decided it was time for a real plane. So I ordered the Veritas. Lie-Nielsen was a bit pricier and maybe better? Who knows.

I received my plane yesterday from Lee Valley and love it. The superior quality was obvious right out of the box. It was shipped to where I work so I had no way to see how well it would perform, since I was reluctant to plane the dock full of rusty nails outside my dive shop door.