LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
596 Posts
I'm not a lawyer, but those logos are copyright protected, and should not be sold. At one time, I scrolled NY Yankee logo fridge magnets that I was selling at my stoop sale (an urban version of a yard sale). I was warned by a passerby that it was illegal, so I ended up giving away the rest to friends.

·
Registered
900 Posts
If you sell just a few here and there, you should be fine and under the radar of the corporate machine. Just don't go advertising it. I think the worst that will happen to you if you get caught is a cease and desist letter from a law firm.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Colleges have a reputation for being very aggressive about protecting their logos. With the funding shortfalls that most of them are having now, they might be even more protective.

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
I'd get the permission of the copyright holder. Companies are very aggressive lately about protecting their copyrighted stuff. I had a friend who wanted to make a bat for his son with a big red B on it, he contacted the Red Sox and it took him 6 months to hear back.

·
Registered
800 Posts
Nicholas,

Unfortunately, what has been said is largely true. Most of college logos are copyrighted, and your use of them commercially may cause some issues. Some colleges are more vigorous than others in enforcing their copyrights. And some are downright vicious!

KU is one of the latter. They have taken a local tee shirt shop here in Lawrence to court twice to the tune of a $600,000 judgment, I believe. That's a lot of tee shirts! And some of the tee shirts just said "KANSAS" on them! Like I said, VICIOUS!

I hate to rain on your parade like this, but "forewarned is forearmed!"

Good luck!

·
Registered
2,320 Posts