LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Hello everyone!

So I've decided to get the ridgid r4511 but the largest circuit in my garage is 15a/120v. Should I have a 20am circuit installed?

I remember a friend doing our floors was cutting laminate on his ridgid r4510, but I'm sure it wasn't drawing 15amps continuously. I was thinking maybe if I was cutting some maple or oak, the saw might draw 13amp from the circuit and the rule is that circuits shouldn't be loaded more than 80% of their maximum rating, so should I be worried?

·
Registered
139 Posts
First, I'm not an electrician. There are a lot of variables at play here, motor rating and distance of the wiring run from the source to the consumption - basically you lose power of long runs.

It is not as simple as installing a new breaker you also have to look at the garages wiring. Most homes are wired using 14/2 wire which is rated for a max a 15amps. If you put a 20 amp breaker on 15 amp wire it could catch fire before it throws the breaker. For a new 20 amp circuit you would probably need new wiring using 12/2 or 12/3 if it is 220v.

I chose to install a 100amp sub panel for my garage / shop and give my TS a dedicated 30a/220v circuit. My tablesaw has 5hp motor and the manual called for 30a circuit.

·
Registered
385 Posts
Will it burst into flames? No. While the 13 amps listed is the FLA rating I would look into upgrading that circuit….Depending on the wire gauge already used it may be as simple as replacing the breaker.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·