LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
549 Posts
I have an old Bailey #4 plane.
I just got a Hock blade and chip breaker.
I have no experience using a hand plane but was able to get some pretty good results right off.
I have questions about the plane though.

There is a light dip in the middle of the frog. With the blade installed there is a gap of about 1/32".
The gap is the middle, but the blade contacts the frog at the top and bottom of the frog. It doesn't seem to be causing a problem but I was wondering if this is normal or not.

The depth adjustment seems very coarse, just a tiny turn of the knob makes a big difference in the thickness of the shavings. Because there is a lot of lash it makes it tricky to raise / lower the depth by small amounts. I am wondering if there is some retrofit kit that helps with this.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Joel, congrats. I have a no.4 with an aftermarket blade that I use all the time. Good plane.

Your frog gap doesn't seem normal, but it also doesn't seem like it would be a huge problem. Other planeheads might be more knowledgeable about this. You can remove the frog and sand it flat, but from what I remember, I had to work around either the sideways adjuster or the little advancer tab.

The depth adjusters are pretty finicky. You learn quickly to turn that knob with a really light touch. All it needs sometimes is a degree or two to get it perfect. Three or four degrees and you're too far. Don't know if there is a kit to help with this, I would just try to get used to it. That's what I did.

·
Registered
20,611 Posts