ClearVue - 1800LH (Rating: 5)

I installed a CV 1800 system a few months ago in my shop. I'm just a hobbyist, not a pro by any stretch, but I'm blessed to be able to own some nice tools. The CV takes a good amount of work to assemble and get the system running-it's far from turnkey-but I rather enjoyed the process. The instructions were reasonably clear, and you can find YouTube videos too. The CV support was outstanding when I had questions and when one part needed to be replaced due to stripped threads from the factory. I used S&D schedule 35 6" PVC (the green stuff) for my ductwork, and really enjoyed putting that together. There's something satisfying about how quickly you can create a fairly intricate piping system with PVC. (I tried to find the lighter and cheaper white S&D pipe but no one seemed to have it.) I secured all pipe connections with two sheet metal screws and metal HVAC tape.

I'm incompetent with electricity, so I had my electrician do the wiring. Three comments on that: 1) The motor was initially wired to run the opposite direction of what was needed-a minor fix for the electrician, but it no doubt would have driven me mad. 2) My electrician chuckled at the optional wiring box/remote kit I bought from CV; he said it was fine, but he could have done the same thing for a fraction of the cost. Not a huge deal as that part wasn't outlandishly expensive, but I mention it for those who might benefit. 3) A few hours after installation, the system started on and off randomly… it was quite unsettling. Turns out that the remote must have been on the same frequency as something else in my neighborhood (garage door opener or the like). CV sent me a differently coded remote and that instantly fixed the problem.