LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I'm looking at building a knockdown Nicholson bench after Chris Schwarz's design. One question is, how well does the benchtop retain 'flatness'. I'm new to hand tools and haven't built a sturdy workbench before. I've considered the usual designs (Moravian, Nicholson, Roubo). Frankly the mortising in the Moravian and Roubo designs is intimidating to a newcomer. The knockdown Nicholson is appealing but I wonder how flat the top will stay (a layer of 2×12s face up with a partial layer below it) compared to a laminated top like the Moravian and Roubo designs use. I know I could modify a Nicholson to use a laminated top, I'd just like to keep the cost down if I can. Do you have any advice? Is a laminated top enough more stable to make it worth the extra cost? Thanks.

BTW I'm looking at a knockdown design because my shop is in my basement (not walkout) and someday I'd like to change that.

·
Super Moderator
12,061 Posts
Let the wood acclimate to your shop a while and find out how they'll move. I definitely suggest sticking with laminating two boards together face to face for the top boards of you intend to use hold fasts. The cost of the cheaper, easier construction is having to flatten more often. I wouldn't worry about flattening it by hand. With construction lumber it's fairly easy with a hand plane, if you're in to that. If not, it might be of more concern, as flattening is trickier, but presumably you'd have to figure it our out anyway for the initial flattening right? I wouldn't expect it to be that out of flat very quickly, and should get out of flat slower at it ages too

·
Registered
5,678 Posts