LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hello, I'm a new hobbyist trying to get started and I was curious about any good books that would be ideal for me with very little wood working experience.

I have a Ridgid portable table saw
18V Dewalt drill and Impact drill
Orbital sander
I will be getting a router and table sometime in the near future

I just bought Jim Tolpin's Table Saw Magic + Measure twice Cut Once off Amazon…

I would appreciate any other suggestions about books or tool. Thanks alot.

·
Registered
7,265 Posts
Good morning,

When I got started, I picked a project to build as a way to learn. I then read about each of the steps that needed to be done, and then bought tools as I needed them for the project. In my case, my first build was an Adirondack chair. It seemed daunting, but I watched a lot of videos and read lots online and got it done.

So my suggestion to you would be to decide what you'd like to build (keeping in mind, you'll probably make a lot of mistakes) and go from there. Whatever you choose, make sure you have a good set of plans and instructions.
The Fine Woodworking website has a beginners section.

Welcome to Lumberjocks!

·
Registered
2,048 Posts
A block plane isn't a huge investment but I think it to be a valuable one. Also a set of chisels. Just learn how to sharpen them, they don't have to be hugely expensive. Don't worry, you can never have enough tools, that's both a blessing and a curse…

Welcome to Lumberjocks.

·
Registered
222 Posts
One recommendation i would make is a subscription or two to a couple of woodworking magazines. You'll find ideas that others have contributed as well as many tool comparisons for future consumption.