LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner

New To Woodworking

5K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  sbryan55 
Intro

INTRODUCTION
Hi my name is Patrizio, I live in Australia Sydney, I am 35 years old Male. I am an Electrician and been in the trade for over 10 years.
I have no experience in woodworking expect for a single project I made a couple of years ago. I made an aquarium hood using a circular saw and a drill. Not bad considering the tools I used and it looked pretty good. I love creating things from scratch and sitting back drinking a beer and saying to myself I made that.

I just recently started getting more interested into woodworking, looking at videos reading blogs and articles. I have learned a lot of things from reading but making the right decision to start was really hard. All reviews for tools are from big companies names and when you look to purchase them, they are quite expensive.

I have found that woodworking like many others hobbies is expensive. Buying everything that you see in video's and reviews is impossible. I worked out getting what you need to start with your first project, then building it up from there.

Getting into woodworking was hard, what table saw, router, fence system, blades, hand tools and etc… to buy. Blogs or info for people starting out is hard to find, you need to read heaps of website and still have no idea at the end.

I hope by posting my experiences in what I did to get to the stages I am should help any new people to woodworking. I hope I can put it into simple terms and explain highs and lows of my journey.

I am also very bad with my hobbies, I start with a bang and never finish anything so I hope that by being part of this community you guys and girls can push me to continue with it.

EQUIPMENT - Table Saw