liberon - Finishing Oil (Rating: 5)

REVIEW OF LIBERON FINISHING OIL

Let me start by saying I'm a hobby woodworker, I have no affiliation with Liberon. I bought my first can of Liberon Finishing Oil at Rockler on a whim quite a few years ago. The price has increased considerably over the years, I still buy it because it's worth it and I haven't found anything better at any price.

From time to time over the years I've ask myself, why don't woodworkers in the woodworking communities I frequent, talk (rave) more about Liberon Finishing Oil? I've mentioned it several times here on LJ without much response. So, I thought I would Do a review and start a conversation here.

First of all, I absolutely love Liberon Finishing Oil, It's the most used finish in my shop. It's pricey but in my opinion very well worth it. I haven't used it on light colored woods much as I work mostly with darker woods like Mahogany, Walnut and Cherry.

After thirty years of woodworking, I've yet to find a finish I prefer over Liberon Finishing Oil. I can't say I've tried them all, but I have spent some $$ and time trying a lot of finishes and techniques. I've used BLO, a variety of the more popular commercially available finishes (OSMO, Maloof ETC.) as well as wipe on, spray and brush on Poly as well including Lacquer. I've spent a ton of $$$ on badger hair brushes, HVLP spray system and the like and they are all stored away nicely and un used for a few years now. The Liberon initial cost is more than anything else I've tried but can be applied with steel wool and shop towels.