LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Need some advice, I'm new to the whole "finishes other than poly" world.
I built a rustic console table for my wife out of reclaimed lumber so I could experiment with different finishes and techniques.
The top conists of segments of different species of pallet and fencing lumber lightly carbonized and skip planed with a tung oil finish.
The legs(ripped down pine 2x's) and skirt (mystery hard white wood from a pallet) are carbonized and painted with a homemade chalk paint using a latex and calcium carbonate mixture. I scraped and sanded back the paint to simulate wear and added some brown wax to dirty up the white paint.
My question is, can I use spray laquer to seal over the whole project?
If not, what if anything could I use to seal the whole piece?
Please be kind in any criticism on the actual construction…..my feelings bruise easily..lol

Table Wood Rectangle Flooring Floor

Attachments

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
No on the lacquer over the wax…

You might have some luck with shellac, it's a lot better at adhering to other finishes…

Good Luck!

Herb

·
Registered
242 Posts
Yup. Shellac is known as a universal finish that you can put over or under any other finish. Seal Cote (the dewaxed stuff) is a perfect choice.

·
Registered
2,643 Posts
I use minwax "polycrylic".
It will POP the distressed sanding areas.
Try it on a scrap piece. YOU WILL LIKE this product, it leaves a clear finish, no yellowing.
"I never use the wax method under paint to distress my projects"
Once again you will have to experiment with acrylic over wax ! Use a test piece first. You might try a "PST" wash first to remove the wax.

·
Registered
3,106 Posts