LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Design

I wanted to share my process of building a wire strung Irish harp because I love this instrument and I am hoping if there is more information out there for people It might make building and playing them more accessible, one big disclaimer I am not a professional harp builder this is just a slice of how I do things as a hobbyist that will hopefully at least inspire someone to learn more on their own. I will preface this entire entry with an acknowledgement that I learned a tremendous amount from the Sligo Harp website (http://www.sligoharps.com/btlh.html) I can't speak highly enough of the resources there. That being said, the content on that website is geared towards building a modern, gut/nylong strung lever harp, which is almost a completely different instrument from a wire strung traditional Irish harp, so this guide will focus mostly on the unique aspects of the wire harp and design/construction techniques. Again, Definitely check out the Sligo harp website if you are considering building any type of harp. Enough with the preamble, on to the content:

Design

The first part of building a harp is doing the design. Fortunately you don't have to start from scratch if you don't want to. The first option is to appropriate a historical design, Rick from Sligo harps mentions this in his guide but in context of a historical Irish harp there are some advantages and disadvantages

Disadvantage: there are only 17 surviving examples of Ancient Irish harps and they are all behind museum glass so good luck measuring one
Bookcase Furniture Shelf Book Interior design

Musical instrument accessory Musical instrument Folk instrument Wood Clàrsach