LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
I have never used shellac before. Always used lacquer and polyeurathane. I have always read that an advantage of shellac is you could spray a coat and it would dry very quickly (in 30-60 minutes) you could sand it down, spray again, etc. you could pretty much finish a small project in a day. So I tried it on a small project and I am finding it takes a long time to dry. I am spraying thin coats. Using a 2 pound cut. I didn't mix flakes with alcohol. It's Zinser. I live in Texas where it is in the high 60's to low 70's. This stuff doesn't dry even over night. Still gummy to the touch. Any thoughts or advice?

·
Registered
370 Posts
How old is the can? If it's too old, I believe it remains tacky, etc. since you have never used Shellac, I'd assume it's new.

I have never used Shellac in any environment other that very, very arid. I can't imagine humidity would prevent it from drying-

·
Registered
7,555 Posts
Yeah, it sounds to me like you have some really old stock. Freshly mixed flakes will only keep several months, Zinnser has some magic they mix into their products to make them last quite a bit longer (up to 3 years, I think). Even so, if the can has been stored improperly, or is way out of date…it won't dry. Be aware, if you just bought that and the store doesn't have a good inventory turn it may have aged sitting in the store. The cans are code dated, but I'm not sure the general public has the key to deciphering it.

·
Registered
7,091 Posts
Just got it from a big box store. No date on it though.

- hokieman
Some where on that can will be a date code. I think with seal coat it's the lot #.

Found this on a Google search:
I sent Zinsser/Rust-Oleum an e-mail asking about their shellac. This is their response…