LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
684 Posts
Hi, All, My next project calls for a wood that is suited for furniture frame and turned parts. I've never tried Alder before, but from what I have read it works very nicely and takes a stain very well.
I would very much like to hear what the pros and cons of this wood type might be.
Thanks.

·
Registered
9,343 Posts
I built a blanket chest for a wedding gift for a friend out of it:

It's very soft. It will dent quite easily if you aren't careful with it. It also works pretty easy with hand tools. It also typically has a lot of knots in it. I couldn't tell you about stain, though, as I don't like to stain wood.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts
I haven't used alder, but I would treat it like cherry when it comes time for stain. I would use a pre-stain conditioner, and make some sample boards. Most of the alder projects I see look blotchy, and the pre-stain conditioner (like diluted shellac) helps prevent that.
For cherry I like a 3:2 mix of denatured alcohol to Bullseye sealcoat. That makes a great pre-stain conditioner.

·
Registered
1,176 Posts
I have used alder. It is a lovely wood to work with, but as jmartel says, fairly soft. About the same hardness as fir.

It blotches, as pinto surmises. To stain it evenly you'll need to use a conditioner or sealer. Even better is to spray a toner.

·
Registered
663 Posts
I have done a few things with alder and like it quite a bit. I can't get the project to embed, but you can see a dining table that I did here.

I thought it would ding up, but we have used it at least weekly for a year and it has nary a scratch. I'm impressed. It will stain on the blotchy side. If you like that (like I do) then great, otherwise maybe a conditioner.

·
Registered
11,876 Posts