Steel City - 40100 13-Inch Bench Top Portable Planer (Rating: 4)

Hello everybody, this is my first review on this forum. I am a hobbyist woodworker, just working on small projects late at night or during weekends and learning on the way for the past 2-3 years. I started just with a bunch of hand tools and gradually evolved to buy a few indispensable tools.

I bought this planer from Amazon, total price including shipping at my door in 2 days $299. As seen below it arrived in a sturdy box, no dents or scratches.

After removing some styrofoam and protective bag, following very clear instructions on the supplied manual the planer was ready. I probably spent 5-10 minutes adjusting the height of the indeed and outfeed tables.

An allen wrench for general adjustments as well as some sort of device an another wrench to change the blades are included.

The universal motor is made in China as well as the planer itself. Here some specifications.

One of the features that steer me into this planer was the dust collection included. It works quite well and installation is straight forward.

I have not tried other planers to compare but this one seems fairly quiet, of course I always wear ear protection in my shop but I would compare to the noise of my Bosch router.
So far I have planned several feet of yellow pine, cherry, ash, oak and hard maple, nothing bigger than 6 feet long or thicker than 8/4. Very smooth surfaces are achieved in any of the prior mentioned woods. The dust collector was very efficient, about 90% of the shavings were collected and a guesstimate of 10% piles up as seen below.