LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
1 - 20 of 73 Posts

· Registered
1,900 Posts
Back to Some Woodworking

Hey There Folks,

I mostly goofed around this weekend. So today was fun as I got back into the woodworking. I went to ACME Tools, bought 2 small bits of popular and got to use my Stanley 4 1/2 for something other than making practice shavings. I am pretty fired up.

http://bit.ly/bWQTzY

Brian
I am wishing you would have purchased the 45. Would like to read about you practicing with one of those.
I do enjoy your blogs.
by the way !!!!! In my area we drink soda pop !
Some drink wobbly pop.

· Registered
1,900 Posts
Working with my hand planes...

Hello LJ's,

Today's post is much better than the horrible drivel I put up yesterday. I am still practicing dovetails, but the regular readers will be thrilled to know, I didn't talk about them at all in the post. Tonight's post is about my attempt at taking a piece of twisted, rough cut, walnut and making it flat. This is my first try at such a task. Before I started I had a hard time imagining how one would do it. Now I can almost see that it is possible, with much more practice, a great understanding of reading the grain, and lots more practice. The point is that I feel much less confused than I was yesterday. I included a picture with the rough cut board, next to the one I have been working on. It is amazing how much the look of wood changes when the rough face is removed.

http://bit.ly/cS6f2E

Brian