LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Someone once said that a Powermatic 3520B was a hobbyist lathe. He was implying that a non-automated machine was non-commercial or non-professional. That kinda rubbed me the wrong way, and I don't even own that machine.

But not "labeling" problems as yet. However, I am sure it will happen soon enough. :)

Hutch

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
i'm a carpenter too but if its woodwork that they are buying from me and they know me as a woodworker i hate it with a passion when they call it carpentry or call me a carpenter on the wrong term.

heres one for you cstrang….buscuit joiner or buscuit jointer ?

I also hat eit at work when another carpenter wants work done his way so hes riding your ass all day til you tell him to f*ck off…the work still gets done and you still get paid by the hour…lol

·
Registered
7,339 Posts
Greetings Mark:..... Hey… you're a carpenter…. get over it…. lol. That's what you do to put grub on the table, and pay the light bill… you woodwork because you love it just like the rest of us… woodworking ain't gonna feed the bulldog unless that's your real job. They can call me what they will… just don't call me late for vitttles and soppings….. that's redneck for grub…..........lol.

·
Registered
1,568 Posts
Nope…doesn't bother me in the least. I don't build circular stairs…or furniture, for any type of moniker…or to be recognized as any one type of craftsman. I do it because I love every frustrating second of it…. I'm truly passionate about every single stroke with the plane….every single joint…every single curve. I do it because I love it.

Humility makes a fine craftsman.

Call me what you like….I know who I am.

As for this part Mark…