LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Hey all! I'm new here and excited to be a part of this great site. I'll skip the personal introduction for now other than saying I live in southeast Missouri and am owner of a good chunk of wooded land. So I have access to lots of various lumber primarily including white oak, walnut, and cedar amount others. So I'm just getting started on this woodworking, but have been wanting to for quite some time.

I cut down a couple cedars the other day and skinned them. Looked at them yesterday and they have some thin longitudinal cracks, and they seemed to have warped some. Can this be avoided? Should I leave the bark on a while? Thanks!

·
Registered
1,826 Posts
Depends on what you are going to do with the wood. If you want boards, best to saw them out as soon as possible after felling the tree.

·
Registered
926 Posts
To avoid warping I'd mill to boards ASAP (as suggested in comment 3), and stack and sticker the boards in a covered area while you let them dry. Then mill to final thickness using a jointer and a planer when you're ready to work with the wood. Good luck, and welcome!

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Yea I have a good bit of oak and some walnut at my disposal as well but wanted to mess around with the cheaper cedar as a beginner. The other option for me is to start with some bar wood stuff. I actually just got a little barnwood end table competed and it actually turned out ok. Any of y'all mess with barnwood? Also, how do I know what kind of wood those planks are made from? I'm not great at judging that just yet. Thanks and sorry for all the newbie questions.

·
Registered
1 Posts