Ridgid - R4512 (Rating: 4)

After MUCH deliberation, and I mean months of research, I finally landed on the Ridgid R5412. This saw has been reviewed a few times already, I just wanted to add my perspective.

1. Buying experience - kind of annoying. I had to wait around for someone to help me. My local home depot had 3 in stock, but could not fin them anywhere. After literally an hour of searching, I gave up. I was just going to go order it online - which I did not want to do. I wanted to inspect the packaging before I got it to try and rule out shipping damage. As I'm getting into the truck I borrowed, the guy comes running out and says he found one. The box was clean, no visible damage, so I swiped my card and off I went.

2 - Assembly. It was really easy. While I am not good with wood (yet) I am very mechanical and have assisted in many rebuilds for engines in 7 second pro outlaw cars, so mechanical assembly is easy for me. Your mileage may very as the instructions were ok, but could be a little more detailed. One annoying thing - the bolt sizes were off. The nuts were generally all 13mm and the bolts were "14mm". None actually were. It was not my wrenches, I have really nice snap-on wrenches and sockets. Neither a box end, open end, 12 pt or 6pt 14mm wrench fit well. a 12pt 13mm did the trick.

3 - Blade alignment. YES, this saw CAN be aligned. I took the back of the cabinet off, slightly loosened the bolts on the trunions and used a bar clamp to apply pressure until my dial indicator showed it was true (enough - this is wood, not metal I'll take 2 thousands).

4 - I wished they extensions were cast iron, but after using the saw, the steel is suitable. I was able to get it completely flat and square to the cast center section. This took a lot of tinkering.