LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hello all. I was able to pick up a used Delta contractor saw for cheap. I'm very new to woodworking but have done a lot of research about tools and techniques. One of the selling points of this saw was the fence. However, for the life of me, I can't get it to lock. I push down on the handle and it just won't lock in place.

I've looked around a couple forums and a few people with similar problems backed out the set screws. I tried that. In fact I backed them out the whole way and the fit is still too tight.

The fence moves along the rails just fine and you can see evidence that the fence is well used. Unfortunately, the original owner passed on and this saw was passed down. The seller had no idea how it works. I looked at it and assumed-wrongly I guess-that I would figure it out.

Pics attached for reference. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Hood Automotive tire Wood Rim Bumper

Wood Bumper Table Automotive tire Automotive exterior

Automotive tire Bumper Wood Rim Bicycle part

Motor vehicle Bumper Automotive exterior Fixture Gas

Attachments

·
Registered
3,985 Posts
In the second pic it should be locked into place. If it is still moving then the set screws on the back need adjusted. I think you screw then in to tighten it up. I have the same fence I can take some pics of mine if it would help you. Mine may have a pad on the face of the metal flap piece. The set screws also need adjusted to square the fence to miter slots which should square it to the blade also since the blade should be squared off the slots also.

·
Registered
6,134 Posts