LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
With me being a carpenter by profession and a woodworker by homework do you know how many times I have heard the questions…

"WHAT DOES YOUR FATHER DO" or "WHO IS YOUR FATHER" ???

Especially with me working in the union everyone is related to someone. Not me. I worked my way into the union and I learned on my own. My father took no part in teaching me any of my craftsmanship. I picked up tools of my own and worked my a** off. A lot of tradesmen get it handed down through family but I'm the first tradesman to exist among my whole family. Anytime people in my family have a problem, they come to me to fix it, especially my father…lol

"MY FATHER IS A TRUCKER" LMAO

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
YES! I know exactly how you feel, my father is a respiratory therapist, not a woodworker and while he can do some minor fixes around the house, when it comes to fine woodworking, well lets just say he usually leaves that to me lol. Almost every time someone looks at my shop they say something like "So I guess these are your dads tools" or "your parents really set you up here huh". Nope, my tools, bought with my money to be put in my shop, dad is welcome to use them any day of the week but I did this by myself thank you very much.

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yea cstrang same here…any tools my dad has are mistreated and not taken care of and when he sees my shop his face lights up and he just wants all my tools…top brand name n everything

·
Registered
7,426 Posts