LumberJocks Woodworking Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I love Pine, I dislike Pine

I have been teaching myself the art of carving since my wife came home with a copy of "Woodcarving Illustrated" this summer. I started out with a trusty Buck pocket knife and have grown to a Japanese 5 piece detail set and a Flexcut bench knife.

Since I am new at this I had not run out and purchased basswood, butternut or anything else. I have a box full of scrap 2×4, 2×2, and 1×2 pine to play with. I have found that pine is way to lose grained for some carvings.

I have some scrap red oak in box my box of goodies as well. I have found that I don't have the time to pump up, to look like Hulk Hogan, to push through the oak.

Anyway, this is basically a rant on pine. I love it for lots of things I make because of my romance with the Old West. I dislike it because when carving and with one little slip "ohhh, sugar!"

This piece was an off shoot of Snowdog's, http://lumberjocks.com/projects/2656. It had a bit of checking that I did not think was very deep or would cause problems as the piece progressed, WRONG!

Live and learn!

Off my box and back to work!

Enjoy!

p.s. In the background is a Santa from the latest Woodcarving Illustrated and a Snowman of my own desire.

p.p.s. Yes they are both Pine. Wish me luck!

·
Registered
18,890 Posts

I have been teaching myself the art of carving since my wife came home with a copy of "Woodcarving Illustrated" this summer. I started out with a trusty Buck pocket knife and have grown to a Japanese 5 piece detail set and a Flexcut bench knife.