LumberJocks

Great Trim Jig

  • Advertise with us
Review by Redoak49 posted 01-21-2022 02:25 AM 1487 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great Trim Jig Great Trim Jig Great Trim Jig Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this based on the previous review. I am building some drawer units with 1/2” plywood edge with 1/2×1/2 Oak strips. When I have done this in the past, it has taken a lot of time to get the oak even with the plywood.

With the Little Lipper it was a very fast easy process. I did have to drill a hole in the bottom plate of the router but this was easy. For a router bit, I used a 3 cutter Freud bit and it left a smooth cut. I wish that I had this in the past.




View Redoak49's profile

Redoak49

5585 posts in 3447 days



9 comments so far

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3470 posts in 3256 days


#1 posted 01-21-2022 02:02 PM

Nice confirmation. Mine arrived yesterday.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View Peteybadboy's profile

Peteybadboy

4840 posts in 3408 days


#2 posted 01-24-2022 10:01 AM

Thanks for the review.

I will order one.

-- Petey

View Peteybadboy's profile

Peteybadboy

4840 posts in 3408 days


#3 posted 01-28-2022 10:43 PM

Mine came today.

-- Petey

View Buck_Thorne's profile

Buck_Thorne

149 posts in 2530 days


#4 posted 01-29-2022 05:50 PM

How does it work, and what does it add to the flush trim bit that you’re already using? Guess I’m a little confused.

View Redoak49's profile

Redoak49

5585 posts in 3447 days


#5 posted 01-29-2022 07:21 PM

You will be less confused if you go to the FastCap site and watch the video.

View Ocelot's profile

Ocelot

3808 posts in 4097 days


#6 posted 01-29-2022 08:24 PM

Long ago I did that with a belt sander. Worked ok, but I wrecked a few shelves sanding through the oak veneer. I’ve never been much of a router man. I took a look at the videos on fastcap site. Looks like this would be a great help. Much better than trying to register the router base against the edge of a 3/4 thick board.

-- I intended to be a woodworker, but turned into a tool and lumber collector.

View Underdog's profile

Underdog

1908 posts in 3494 days


#7 posted 02-02-2022 03:34 PM

Thanks for this review! This is a very helpful tool.

I see how the white bearing part works, but what is the red flange for?

-- Jim, Georgia, USA

View Redoak49's profile

Redoak49

5585 posts in 3447 days


#8 posted 02-02-2022 09:12 PM

The original version did not have the red flange. It helps keep your hand out of the router bit.

View Underdog's profile

Underdog

1908 posts in 3494 days


#9 posted 02-02-2022 09:36 PM

Ah! Thanks! Good to know.

-- Jim, Georgia, USA

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com