LumberJocks

SawStop Router Lift, Cast Iron Table, Mobile Stand, Fence & Bora 3.25hp Router

  • Advertise with us
Review by darthford posted 03-09-2021 12:24 AM 1389 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
SawStop Router Lift, Cast Iron Table, Mobile Stand, Fence & Bora 3.25hp Router No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Review: Inspection and Assembly of SawStop router lift, cast iron router table, mobile stand, downdraft dust collection box, and fence. Plus a Bora Portamate 3.25hp router motor.

Here it is fully assembled. There was a lot of assembly required over several days. I have to say everything fit perfectly there wasn’t a single hitch or issue during assembly. I was quite impressed with the quality, fit and finish. The components seem heavy duty.

Here’s the back, that fence is a solid one piece ‘L’ shaped extrusion and pretty heavy. The fence rails are also pretty thick. They provided nearly twice the length of hose required I cut a healthy amount off. The dust collection box is steel and the ports (cord, hose, vent, etc) can be moved around to various locations. There’s a large metal door on the front for access secured via a magnet.

Here I flipped the table over. The cast iron table is well ribbed. The stand is quite sturdy with plenty of wiggle room to adjust square and true. So much wiggle room I had to use a square as I tightened the screws in phases. Love the 3 wheel mobile base but the wheels are hard plastic, I’ll be looking for some urethane replacement wheels. 2×3 inch and 1×2.5 inch. The leveling feet are also hard plastic, I may replace with rubber.

That’s some eye popping mechanical right there. Very smooth operating and the fit and finish is superb. I wanted a 4 post that locks, check and check.

Here’s the top, again the fit and finish and feel of a finely crafted product is obvious.

Here’s the Bora Portamate 3.25hp router motor. The only router in this hp range I could find available everything else is on backorder. It was a perfect fit for the SawStop router lift.

Here’s a money shot of the 32×24 inch cast iron table. It’s DEAD FLAT front to back with a Starrett 24 inch rule. Side to side not so much. The center 20 inches is dead flat. The last 6 inches to the left and right dip down slightly. Haven’t measured it yet but with 20 inches of flat in the center it should be fine. If the left/right edges were high rather than low that would have been an issue.




View darthford's profile

darthford

676 posts in 2982 days



10 comments so far

View BigAl98's profile

BigAl98

265 posts in 4097 days


#1 posted 03-10-2021 01:40 AM

How much $....or link?

-- Al,Midwest -To thine own self be true

View Dmitriy_S's profile

Dmitriy_S

29 posts in 1047 days


#2 posted 03-10-2021 04:44 AM

While it is a really nice router table, it is out of my affordability. Congrats on a new router table

View darthford's profile

darthford

676 posts in 2982 days


#3 posted 03-10-2021 05:28 AM



How much $....or link?

- BigAl98

$1,526

Cast iron top and mobile stand $819
Four post router lift $399
32” fence $169
Downdraft dust collection box $139

View Peteybadboy's profile

Peteybadboy

3298 posts in 3008 days


#4 posted 03-10-2021 11:08 AM

I took it off my list when I saw that you can’t add (Woodpeckers) micro adjuster to the fence. That is a must for me. I use it all the time. Thanks for posting

-- Petey

View WillliamMSP's profile

WillliamMSP

1160 posts in 2663 days


#5 posted 03-10-2021 01:11 PM


I took it off my list when I saw that you can t add (Woodpeckers) micro adjuster to the fence. That is a must for me. I use it all the time. Thanks for posting

- Peteybadboy

While the Woodpecker wouldn’t work, JessEm has a micro-adjuster and I think that it would work. I have the same SawStop fence and believe that it’s made by JessEm, with a few small differences. I outlined it in my review of the fence – https://www.lumberjocks.com/reviews/12192

-- Practice makes less sucky. (Bill, Minneapolis, MN)

View darthford's profile

darthford

676 posts in 2982 days


#6 posted 03-10-2021 04:25 PM

While the Woodpecker wouldn t work, JessEm has a micro-adjuster and I think that it would work. I have the same SawStop fence and believe that it s made by JessEm, with a few small differences. I outlined it in my review of the fence – https://www.lumberjocks.com/reviews/12192

- WillliamMSP

I took a look and the JessEm won’t work without drilling/tapping two holes in the fence. Read your review also. The SS fence is intentionally fouled up with the dovetail top track and no track on the back/bottom of the fence for a micro adjuster.

I have to say I find all these router table fences primitive in design. Nothing like the ease of a T fence on a table saw or bandsaw. Adjusting the SS fence parallel is a laughable process and other than the fancy Incra I don’t see any of the other router table fences being much better. With this cast iron table I may be able to adapt a T style fence I’ll have to give that some thought.

View WillliamMSP's profile

WillliamMSP

1160 posts in 2663 days


#7 posted 03-10-2021 05:40 PM


I took a look and the JessEm won t work without drilling/tapping two holes in the fence.

- darthford

With the Mast-R-Fence II, which I believe the RT-F32 is based on, you use a little adapter bracket rather than drill holes -

https://jessem.com/collections/router-table-accessories/products/new-mounting-bracket-for-micro-adjuster

-- Practice makes less sucky. (Bill, Minneapolis, MN)

View Madmark2's profile

Madmark2

2524 posts in 1647 days


#8 posted 03-10-2021 05:51 PM

Great review but lacks one important detail—how does it cut?!

Does all of this help you make better projects? Can you remake a project that was so-so and show how much this has improved your work?

Does the dust collection work well?

Let us know how well it works otherwise this post is just a brag.

-- The hump with the stump and the pump!

View darthford's profile

darthford

676 posts in 2982 days


#9 posted 03-10-2021 08:31 PM

With the Mast-R-Fence II, which I believe the RT-F32 is based on, you use a little adapter bracket rather than drill holes – https://jessem.com/collections/router-table-accessories/products/new-mounting-bracket-for-micro-adjuster

- WillliamMSP

Say that will work fine, congrats you are officially “the man”!

View darthford's profile

darthford

676 posts in 2982 days


#10 posted 03-10-2021 08:35 PM



Great review but lacks one important detail—how does it cut?!

Does all of this help you make better projects? Can you remake a project that was so-so and show how much this has improved your work?

Does the dust collection work well?

Let us know how well it works otherwise this post is just a brag.

- Madmark2

This is the first review covering “Inspection and Assembly” I’ll be back after I put it through its paces with the Leigh 16” RTJ400 dovetail/box joint jig.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com