LumberJocks

Stellar Cut Quality and Carbide Tipped

  • Advertise with us
Review by pintodeluxe posted 12-30-2020 09:19 PM 1152 views 0 times favorited 21 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Stellar Cut Quality and Carbide Tipped Stellar Cut Quality and Carbide Tipped No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I was most impressed with my Resaw King blade. I had already been using Laguna ProForce blades, which I’m quite happy with for everyday work. This will be a great addition to the bandsaw blade stable.

Variable tooth spacing for improved harmonics.
Carbide tipped and resharpenable.

Check out the video review for cut quality…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lCCbmAoNyaY

Cheers

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush




View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

6298 posts in 3790 days



21 comments so far

View CL810's profile (online now)

CL810

4098 posts in 3965 days


#1 posted 12-31-2020 12:18 AM

Nice review Willie. I agree with your rating of the Laguna blades.

-- "The only limits to our realization of tomorrow will be our doubts of today." - FDR

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

6298 posts in 3790 days


#2 posted 12-31-2020 06:29 PM

Thanks. I’ve always been fascinated by carbide bandsaw blades, and finally got the chance to try this out. It makes sense to use carbide. I mean, imagine going back to standard steel blades on your tablesaw!

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View Newbie17's profile

Newbie17

164 posts in 1437 days


#3 posted 01-01-2021 05:22 AM

I’ll add photos of how mine cuts and compares to a much cheaper blade.

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

6298 posts in 3790 days


#4 posted 01-01-2021 06:43 AM

Hmm, that’s interesting. Mine is 3/4” wide and cuts beautifully in walnut and white oak.

Actually the cut quality is similar to the ProForce blade, but the carbide is supposed to stay sharp longer.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View Andre's profile

Andre

4136 posts in 2782 days


#5 posted 01-01-2021 03:54 PM

Thought about a carbide blade but hate changing blades on my B.S.
Keep a 1/2” 3 tpi on the 17” an a 3/16” on the 10”
Local shop makes up the 1/2” blades for about $15.00 CAN. which usually last me about 6 months (Hobby use) asked him about carbide blades and he told me I could get at least 5 Bahco blades for the price of the carbide an that about the 3rd blade time frame I may not be a Happy Wood worker:)
Really wonder if the Laguna is that much better?

-- Lifting one end of the plank.

View James E McIntyre's profile

James E McIntyre

1045 posts in 2269 days


#6 posted 01-01-2021 04:51 PM



I’ll add photos of how mine cuts and compares to a much cheaper blade.

- Newbie17

The cheaper Timber Wolf looks smoother. I’m I seeing it right?

Great review Pentodeluxe.

-- James E McIntyre

View Newbie17's profile

Newbie17

164 posts in 1437 days


#7 posted 01-01-2021 06:39 PM


I’ll add photos of how mine cuts and compares to a much cheaper blade.

- Newbie17

The cheaper Timber Wolf looks smoother. I’m I seeing it right?

Great review Pentodeluxe.

- James E McIntyre

Yes, the Timberwolf cuts beautifully. When it snapped (my own fault) I researched what the best blades were and chose the Laguna resaw king. The Resaw King cuts as rough as I imagine a bandsaw blade can. It powers through anything though with my 3 hp bandsaw. I do miss the smooth cuts of the Timberwolf.

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

6298 posts in 3790 days


#8 posted 01-01-2021 06:45 PM



Thought about a carbide blade but hate changing blades on my B.S.
Keep a 1/2” 3 tpi on the 17” an a 3/16” on the 10”
Local shop makes up the 1/2” blades for about $15.00 CAN. which usually last me about 6 months (Hobby use) asked him about carbide blades and he told me I could get at least 5 Bahco blades for the price of the carbide an that about the 3rd blade time frame I may not be a Happy Wood worker:)
Really wonder if the Laguna is that much better?

- Andre

My logic was that any time a blade gets dull, your cuts will wander and likely ruin valuable lumber. Any time I’m resawing, it’s because I want my best stock to go further. If 4-5 blades would dull and need replacing in the time one carbide blade lasts, that’s worth a premium to me.
Plus it can be resharpened.

Certainly not for the occasional use hobby shop woodworker, but I think more and more serious woodworkers will opt for carbide blades.

Consider not just the one-to-one cost of silicon steel vs. carbide, but also the frustration every time a blade dulls.

Cheers

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View James E McIntyre's profile

James E McIntyre

1045 posts in 2269 days


#9 posted 01-01-2021 07:10 PM

I’ll add photos of how mine cuts and compares to a much cheaper blade.

- Newbie17

The cheaper Timber Wolf looks smoother. I’m I seeing it right?

Great review Pentodeluxe.

- James E McIntyre

Yes, the Timberwolf cuts beautifully. When it snapped (my own fault) I researched what the best blades were and chose the Laguna resaw king. The Resaw King cuts as rough as I imagine a bandsaw blade can. It powers through anything though with my 3 hp bandsaw. I do miss the smooth cuts of the Timberwolf.

- Newbie17

Newbie did it break at the weld? I had a 3/16” blade from Highland Woodworking and it snapped at the weld. I don’t think I over tightened it.

Got to get a 1/2” timber wolf.
Sorry Pentodelux to be chatting over your review. It a great subject.

-- James E McIntyre

View Redoak49's profile

Redoak49

5028 posts in 2965 days


#10 posted 01-02-2021 01:12 PM

Very good and informative review. I use a Woodslicer blade and get similar looking results to your non-carbide blade.

Do others have similar results with the red resaw king?

I have fallen in love with your bandsaw and guides.

View Lazyman's profile

Lazyman

6404 posts in 2364 days


#11 posted 01-10-2021 02:44 PM

My Highlander Woodslicer gave a great finish while sharp but dulled pretty quickly compared my normal Timberwolf blades. I’m going to try sharpening it myself to see if I can extend its useful life. I have looked many times at the carbide blades but I haven’t gotten over the sticker shock yet to give it try.

-- Nathan, TX -- Hire the lazy man. He may not do as much work but that's because he will find a better way.

View edapp's profile

edapp

347 posts in 2406 days


#12 posted 01-12-2021 07:35 PM

I broke my 1” resaw king after a few years of use and abuse (I was cutting down some firewood freehand, dont tell anyone) immediately purchased another without a second though. This time I got a 3/4” blade (in my 18” saw). Cuts wonderfully, tracks dead straight with no fuss, and the finish is smooth enough that I have to feel the surface with my finger to differentiate the jointed side vs the sawn side when I head to the planer.

If you are not getting an exceptionally smooth surface after making the proper adjustments to tracking and tension, I would call laguna and inquire about a warranty/exchange. For the price I expected excellent cut quality, and I have gotten it out of two blades.

Love it!

View edapp's profile

edapp

347 posts in 2406 days


#13 posted 01-12-2021 07:37 PM



My Highlander Woodslicer gave a great finish while sharp but dulled pretty quickly compared my normal Timberwolf blades. I m going to try sharpening it myself to see if I can extend its useful life. I have looked many times at the carbide blades but I haven t gotten over the sticker shock yet to give it try.

- Lazyman

After throwing away 3 or 4 woodslicer blades I switched and will never go back. The woodslicer worked but you arent joking about it dulling quickly.

View splintergroup's profile (online now)

splintergroup

4434 posts in 2199 days


#14 posted 01-12-2021 08:19 PM

I loved the woodslicers, fast, smooth cuts but once some hardwoods went through they dulled fast.
On a lark I bought a 144” x 3/4” RK and I am very impressed so far. No hesitation with hard woods and seems as sharp as ever. I even bought a 1” version in reserve since I forsee some day I’ll need to send out the 3/4” for sharpening and I really don’t want to be caught without one.

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

6298 posts in 3790 days


#15 posted 01-12-2021 08:52 PM



This time I got a 3/4” blade (in my 18” saw). Cuts wonderfully, tracks dead straight with no fuss, and the finish is smooth enough that I have to feel the surface with my finger to differentiate the jointed side vs the sawn side when I head to the planer.

Love it!

- edapp

I agree, you really have to feel the surface to see which side was cut on the bandsaw.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

showing 1 through 15 of 21 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com