LumberJocks

WEN 8x12 3420T Wood Lathe - 7 months, 39 projects & DEAD

  • Advertise with us
Review by MovingChips posted 11-18-2020 03:51 PM 744 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
WEN 8x12 3420T Wood Lathe - 7 months, 39 projects & DEAD No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

WEN 8×12 3420T Wood Lathe – 7 Months old, 39 projects in and the lathe has died. This is my final review and look at the WEN 8×12 model 3420t.

- Weak motor
- Soft Metal (tool rest and head stock)
- No replacement parts
- Tool rest lowest setting not low enough
- Not meant for bowl turning

+ Variable speed control
+ 110v house outlet (no special electrical outlet required)

I may have pushed this little lathe beyond its manufactures suggested usage. To understand this is to first realize the manufacturer suggests not turning anything greater then 5 inch diameter, although it has 8 inches of clearance.

After talking with others, it is my belief that the lathe might actually be intended for small projects (pens) and not larger projects like bowls, boxes, platters, etc. Large projects will require large tools and thus the reason the tool rest is not able to get lower. But then why provide a screw plate for larger projects? Why have an 8 inch throw?

I will confess that at this point I must have used the 8×12 lathe as I assumed it was designed. It would probably still be running fine, if I did nothing but pen projects. For this reason, I am giving the lathe two stars.

1 star for getting me into to turning and another for holding out as long as it did.

I’m taking 3 stars away for misleading me to believe I could use all 8 inches of the lathe, weak motor and lack of replacement parts.

To see the video version of this review: Death of a Lathe!

Thanks

PS – I now have a Laguna Revo 1216… what a difference! Power! Solid! So excited!




View MovingChips's profile

MovingChips

60 posts in 157 days



7 comments so far

View EarlS's profile

EarlS

4085 posts in 3264 days


#1 posted 11-18-2020 04:03 PM

Your review describes any WEN product I’ve used – cheap, underpowered, poor quality.

-- Earl "I'm a pessamist - generally that increases the chance that things will turn out better than expected"

View MovingChips's profile

MovingChips

60 posts in 157 days


#2 posted 11-18-2020 04:17 PM



Your review describes any WEN product I ve used – cheap, underpowered, poor quality.

- EarlS

Why am I not surprised? LOL

View pottz's profile

pottz

12296 posts in 1900 days


#3 posted 11-19-2020 12:05 AM

yeah it’s POS and i think you told me it doesn’t even have a warranty,i can see why.yeah id say if all you ever wanted to do is pens then maybe.now im concerned,i just bought a wen 8” bench grinder early this year,so far it’s rockin! fingers crossed.

-- working with my hands is a joy,it gives me a sense of fulfillment,somthing so many seek and so few find.-SAM MALOOF.

View MovingChips's profile

MovingChips

60 posts in 157 days


#4 posted 11-19-2020 12:57 AM



yeah it s POS and i think you told me it doesn t even have a warranty,i can see why.yeah id say if all you ever wanted to do is pens then maybe.now im concerned,i just bought a wen 8” bench grinder early this year,so far it s rockin! fingers crossed.

- pottz

Yeah WEN products are cheap. I have a few other tools and so far not an issue. I also don’t use the other tools nearly as much as I used the lathe.

View pottz's profile

pottz

12296 posts in 1900 days


#5 posted 11-19-2020 01:09 AM


yeah it s POS and i think you told me it doesn t even have a warranty,i can see why.yeah id say if all you ever wanted to do is pens then maybe.now im concerned,i just bought a wen 8” bench grinder early this year,so far it s rockin! fingers crossed.

- pottz

Yeah WEN products are cheap. I have a few other tools and so far not an issue. I also don t use the other tools nearly as much as I used the lathe.

- MovingChips


yeah the grinder will only get moderate use so i should be ok with it.

-- working with my hands is a joy,it gives me a sense of fulfillment,somthing so many seek and so few find.-SAM MALOOF.

View Sark's profile

Sark

352 posts in 1276 days


#6 posted 11-19-2020 04:36 AM

I’d say you got your money’s worth out of it.

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3458 posts in 2713 days


#7 posted 11-19-2020 02:43 PM

I have a Wen drill press, spindle sander, and air filter, all of which work just fine. But none of them are used hard on a daily basis. Sorry this lathe didn’t work out. As you said, it depends on how you’re using it.

yeah it s POS and i think you told me it doesn t even have a warranty,i can see why.yeah id say if all you ever wanted to do is pens then maybe.now im concerned,i just bought a wen 8” bench grinder early this year,so far it s rockin! fingers crossed.

- pottz

Yeah WEN products are cheap. I have a few other tools and so far not an issue. I also don t use the other tools nearly as much as I used the lathe.

- MovingChips


-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com