LumberJocks

Cant Get It Assembled!!!

  • Advertise with us
Review by doctimw posted 05-08-2020 03:05 PM 1070 views 0 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Cant Get It Assembled!!! Cant Get It Assembled!!! Cant Get It Assembled!!! Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this combo sander for a project build for my wife for mothers day. I only have 2 more days and all I needed was some final sanding prior to finishing the stain and protective layers. The spindle knob (free floating) won’t even thread onto the spindle. Took belt off and just tried to free-hand it on but it doesn’t seem to fit. Threads appear to be okay and no sign of any x-threading seen. Has anyone else run into this problem and was there a fix. Our local HD doesn’t have any in stock as this was the last one they had. Thanks HD, no final gift for my wife on Mothers day!!




View doctimw's profile

doctimw

2 posts in 3360 days



15 comments so far

View Notw's profile

Notw

761 posts in 2484 days


#1 posted 05-08-2020 03:18 PM

it is reverse threaded

View Madmark2's profile

Madmark2

1255 posts in 1319 days


#2 posted 05-08-2020 03:26 PM

Turn it the other way. Its left handed threads. There should be a lock/unlock symbol with arrows on the top of the knob.

When all else fails RTFM as they say in the Army.

-- The hump with the stump and the pump!

View doctimw's profile

doctimw

2 posts in 3360 days


#3 posted 05-08-2020 04:07 PM

Yes, discovered that the knob is reverse threaded and immediately wanted to update my review so that others would be able to assemble theirs. Thank you for validating my discovery! I was in a time crunch and somehow completely overlooked that line in red in the manual. Thank you again and now I can get to finishing up my mother days present of a custom designed distressed wooden shelf to mount her new soundbar and appleTV.

View Samgar's profile

Samgar

18 posts in 585 days


#4 posted 05-08-2020 04:08 PM

I had the same problem when I bought mine years ago. I felt like a complete moron when I noticed the thread was the other way. Felt especially dumb when I looked at the top of the knob and there was a picture that showed, in all its graphic glory, which way I should turn it. If that is the problem, don’t feel bad. We all have these kind of moments.

View Rich's profile

Rich

5520 posts in 1320 days


#5 posted 05-08-2020 10:31 PM

Why is this posted as a review?

-- Half of what we read or hear about finishing is right. We just don’t know which half! — Bob Flexner

View Brandon's profile

Brandon

4200 posts in 3682 days


#6 posted 05-09-2020 12:06 AM



Why is this posted as a review?

- Rich

So OP could rate the sander 1 star for his own inability to read the manual.

-- "hold fast to that which is good"

View LittleBlackDuck's profile (online now)

LittleBlackDuck

4438 posts in 1551 days


#7 posted 05-09-2020 10:37 AM

Come down to Australia… everythings backward here.

Honest mistake and I sympathise, as I hate reading (too)... but one must RTFM before hitting that red panic button.

-- If your first cut is too short... Take the second cut from the longer end... LBD

View Redoak49's profile

Redoak49

4635 posts in 2719 days


#8 posted 05-09-2020 01:52 PM

Too often people come on LJ just to rant about something in a review. Unfortunately, the rant back fired. I doubt we will see this person again.

View Ocelot's profile

Ocelot

2462 posts in 3369 days


#9 posted 05-09-2020 02:38 PM

He has over 700 posts. We all make mistakes.

View GR8HUNTER's profile

GR8HUNTER

7403 posts in 1443 days


#10 posted 05-09-2020 02:47 PM

he only has 2 posts and NO PROJECTS i agree RTFM :<))))))))

-- Tony---- Reinholds,Pa.------ REMEMBER TO ALWAYS HAVE FUN

View jacquesr's profile

jacquesr

347 posts in 2154 days


#11 posted 05-10-2020 03:24 AM

Give the guy a break! Not everyone is a rocket surgeon.

View Madmark2's profile

Madmark2

1255 posts in 1319 days


#12 posted 05-10-2020 04:30 AM

Sturgeon.

-- The hump with the stump and the pump!

View robscastle's profile

robscastle

7072 posts in 2935 days


#13 posted 05-10-2020 08:59 AM

Joined in 2011 and been busy ever since.

-- Regards Rob

View pottz's profile

pottz

9378 posts in 1715 days


#14 posted 05-11-2020 02:46 PM

damn late to the party,and it sounds like it was a good one too-lol.

-- sawdust the bigger the pile the bigger my smile-larry,so cal.

View LittleBlackDuck's profile (online now)

LittleBlackDuck

4438 posts in 1551 days


#15 posted 05-11-2020 03:13 PM


damn late to the party,and it sounds like it was a good one too-lol.

- pottz


Last man shouts pottzy... You Yanks know what a shout is… It’s not a loud NO, denying your hand into your lobster-pot wallet (the one that moneys goes in but never comes out of)!

-- If your first cut is too short... Take the second cut from the longer end... LBD

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com