LumberJocks

I compared and reviewed several different rasps and found a few surprises

  • Advertise with us
Review by CharlieK posted 02-20-2020 10:38 PM 3479 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
I compared and reviewed several different rasps and found a few surprises No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

<div>Get your own valid XHTML YouTube embed code</div>

I compared super inexpensive rasps from Amazon to hand cut French rasps and several others. I hope this is useful.

-- Adjustable Height Workbench Plans http://www.Jack-Bench.com




View CharlieK's profile

CharlieK

605 posts in 5255 days



9 comments so far

View DocSavage45's profile

DocSavage45

9071 posts in 4304 days


#1 posted 02-21-2020 03:34 AM

Charlie,

I followed your lead when you purchased them Work well and even come with a sleeve!

-- Cau Haus Designs, Thomas J. Tieffenbacher

View CharlieK's profile

CharlieK

605 posts in 5255 days


#2 posted 02-21-2020 04:59 PM



Charlie,

I followed your lead when you purchased them Work well and even come with a sleeve!

- DocSavage45

Thanks Tom, I’m glad they worked for you!

-- Adjustable Height Workbench Plans http://www.Jack-Bench.com

View mdhills's profile

mdhills

82 posts in 4094 days


#3 posted 02-25-2020 03:23 PM

What was your takeaway?

View CharlieK's profile

CharlieK

605 posts in 5255 days


#4 posted 02-25-2020 06:11 PM



What was your takeaway?

- mdhills


A couple of things. First, I think that a nice fine toothed rasp is harder to come by than a coarse one and I’m willing to pay more for them. I’ve found that the Auriou hand cut rasps really are better than most others. However, I tried a Liogier hand cut rasp and I didn’t like it at all. StewMac sells one called a Dragon rasp that gives great results and is less expensive than the hand cut rasps.

I have a couple of the Golden Rasps from Amazon and although they are a bit coarse, I think they are one of the best bargains in woodworking. They cut smoothly and quickly. Better yet, you can buy a set of them for around $12!

-- Adjustable Height Workbench Plans http://www.Jack-Bench.com

View Foghorn's profile

Foghorn

1522 posts in 848 days


#5 posted 02-28-2020 02:54 AM

Nice review. I have a Polish made one from LeeValley that is pretty good as well. When I’m carving guitar necks, it’s drawknife, spokeshave, Polish second cut and then the Aurioux fine. Hard to beat the finish with a hand stitched rasp before going to abrasives.

-- Darrel

View CharlieK's profile

CharlieK

605 posts in 5255 days


#6 posted 02-28-2020 04:02 PM



Nice review. I have a Polish made one from LeeValley that is pretty good as well. When I m carving guitar necks, it s drawknife, spokeshave, Polish second cut and then the Aurioux fine. Hard to beat the finish with a hand stitched rasp before going to abrasives.

- Foghorn

Thanks Darrel!

-- Adjustable Height Workbench Plans http://www.Jack-Bench.com

View Smitty_Cabinetshop's profile

Smitty_Cabinetshop

17825 posts in 4080 days


#7 posted 02-28-2020 04:39 PM

Recommended rasps from amazon ‘Unavailable.’ Guess the word got out! Thx for the great review.

-- Don't anthropomorphize your handplanes. They hate it when you do that. - OldTools Archive -

View CharlieK's profile

CharlieK

605 posts in 5255 days


#8 posted 02-28-2020 07:54 PM



Recommended rasps from amazon ‘Unavailable.’ Guess the word got out! Thx for the great review.

- Smitty_Cabinetshop

Thanks! I’m surprised that they’re sold out!

-- Adjustable Height Workbench Plans http://www.Jack-Bench.com

View Kelly's profile

Kelly

3899 posts in 4406 days


#9 posted 03-03-2020 06:18 AM

I just got a couple of the yellow puppies and they are coarse varmits, but

AND thanks (they do what they are supposed to do, a whole lot quicker than paper (you reminded me I own a bunch).

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com