LumberJocks

Always sharp drill bits.

  • Advertise with us
Review by mafe posted 04-26-2019 09:54 AM 1181 views 1 time favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Always sharp drill bits. Always sharp drill bits. Always sharp drill bits. Click the pictures to enlarge them

Always sharp drill bits
I love it!

Bought this little fellow two years ago and think it needs attention….

I am one of those guys who hates dull tools and even more find a dull drill bit when I need just that size, so after yeas of frustration, I decided to go the lazy road of a drill bitt sharpener and honestly it was a wonderful choice.

I don’t have much to say, except learn how to sharpen by hand on your grinder, or buy one of these, this is so fast and so useful, that I promise you, that you will love every penny spend and on the long term you will save money too.

I have made a rutine now of sharpening a bunch at the time, but also just as needed, it’s often, while working we need that sharp drill bitt, that leaves a crisp cut.

So full house of stars, for being easy effective, saving time, money and proven it’s value over time.

I add a link to a video, of a guy showing how easy it is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcJ0s-14o2Y

Hope this can be useful.

Best thoughts,

MaFe

-- MAD F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.




View mafe's profile

mafe

11972 posts in 3451 days



10 comments so far

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

22527 posts in 3467 days


#1 posted 04-26-2019 11:52 AM

That is really cool,Mads. I like the fact that it also narrows the point for easy feeding…especially into steel. I have never see one that did that

I always do them by hand. when I was an apprentice, they showed me how to hand sharpen drill and narrow the point. My job was to all them in the tool crib…thousands! I learned real well from that. but this is slick!!!!!!!!!

cheers, Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View mafe's profile

mafe

11972 posts in 3451 days


#2 posted 04-26-2019 11:55 AM

Jim, that’s the ‘real’ way and the cool way. ;-)
Cheers, Mads

-- MAD F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View lew's profile

lew

12736 posts in 4117 days


#3 posted 04-26-2019 01:05 PM

Nice review, Mads!

I picked up a similar model at a garage sale. Agree with everything you said about it.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View mafe's profile

mafe

11972 posts in 3451 days


#4 posted 04-26-2019 04:33 PM

Lew, yes one of those things we just enjoy when there and did not know we needed.
Smiles,
Mads

-- MAD F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View dschlic1's profile

dschlic1

450 posts in 2331 days


#5 posted 04-26-2019 06:07 PM

Very similar to a Drill Doctor.

View Ocelot's profile

Ocelot

2181 posts in 3000 days


#6 posted 04-26-2019 10:41 PM

Where can you get one of those in USA?

View mafe's profile

mafe

11972 posts in 3451 days


#7 posted 04-27-2019 12:24 AM

Ocelot, I have no clue, I’m living in Copenhagen Denmark and bought mine on E-bay Germany. ;-)
But it looks like the drill doctor is the same machine more or less.
dschlic1, yes I agree.
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- MAD F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View GR8HUNTER's profile

GR8HUNTER

5966 posts in 1074 days


#8 posted 04-27-2019 12:43 AM

yes except for how you sharpen them drill doctor takes a knack to run it i have the 750 model :<))))

-- Tony---- Reinholds,Pa.------ REMEMBER TO ALWAYS HAVE FUN

View mafe's profile

mafe

11972 posts in 3451 days


#9 posted 04-28-2019 12:28 PM

GR8HUNTER,
I can see the 750 is a more advanced model, where you vĀ“can change the angle for different types of drills, where the BSG13E, is just a fixed angle, that’s a really cool option to have.
Thanks.
Here videos of both:
Drilldoctor: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mEDnVAJR3gQ
Holtzmann BSG13E: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e54D6x07-OQ
Best thoughts,
Mads

-- MAD F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

10585 posts in 4414 days


#10 posted 04-28-2019 11:03 PM

A very COOL TOOL… THank you!

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com