LumberJocks

My new favorite glue

  • Advertise with us
Review by JCD posted 02-06-2019 05:43 AM 1274 views 0 times favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
My new favorite glue My new favorite glue No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Ok. Maybe a review on glue isn’t the most thrilling, but after doing a couple rooms of custom window trim, building a kitchen peninsula with cabinets, and making some custom cabinet molding with corbels and cove molding, I’ve found a new best friend to companion my kreg jig and pin nailer.

Found it at Menards (not carried at my Lowe’s) and have found what I believe is that perfect, thick (not runny), glue that dries fast (but not so fast I couldn’t get my clamps in place and adjusted). I hope this stuff stays around because I plan on using it on everything where I don’t want massive glue drips (so basically everything). Thought I’d pass along my experience.




View JCD's profile

JCD

21 posts in 2187 days



14 comments so far

View ScottKaye's profile

ScottKaye

732 posts in 2223 days


#1 posted 02-06-2019 12:13 PM

is it a PVA or glue or maybe even CA?

-- "Nothing happens until you build it"

View BHZ's profile

BHZ

21 posts in 1249 days


#2 posted 02-06-2019 01:51 PM

View cmmyakman's profile

cmmyakman

220 posts in 2927 days


#3 posted 02-06-2019 02:27 PM

I hadn’t heard of it – thank you for the information.

-- You can't fail if you don't give up.

View Gene Howe's profile

Gene Howe

11245 posts in 3699 days


#4 posted 02-06-2019 03:00 PM

Thanks for the info. I’ll give it a shot.

-- Gene 'The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.' G. K. Chesterton

View fivecodys's profile

fivecodys

1314 posts in 1907 days


#5 posted 02-06-2019 04:48 PM

I will have to give that a try.
Thank you for the review.

-- I always knew I would grow old, But I expected it to take longer!

View mel52's profile (online now)

mel52

694 posts in 535 days


#6 posted 02-06-2019 06:56 PM

Same as the others, haven’t heard of it and may have to give it a try…Mel

-- MEL, Kansas

View SenecaWoodArt's profile

SenecaWoodArt

444 posts in 1890 days


#7 posted 02-07-2019 05:39 PM

It is really Titebond’s Trim glue that has been renamed. It has been around for a while. I have to order it from Amazon as no local dealer carries it. I have been using it for over a year now and the only complaint that I have is that it is a lot more expensive than Titebond II or III. But if you need a faster glue up, then this is your friend.

-- Bob

View DannyW's profile

DannyW

57 posts in 68 days


#8 posted 02-07-2019 08:44 PM

Thanks for the review, I will have to try it out.

-- -DannyW

View hikerdoc's profile

hikerdoc

3 posts in 1461 days


#9 posted 02-08-2019 06:27 AM

Is it possible to search for a specific project on Lumberjocks as in pub table. When I use the search engine on right side of page it throws me out to the search results not specific to Lumberjocks.

View robscastle's profile

robscastle

5710 posts in 2475 days


#10 posted 02-08-2019 10:48 AM

Dont need it!
I am slower than the slowest setting glue anyway and definately thicker than anything else on this planet.

-- Regards Rob

View BB1's profile

BB1

1287 posts in 1118 days


#11 posted 02-09-2019 03:07 AM

I agree with the benefits this thicker glue can offer. I have used this glue for a while and really like it for smaller projects.

View LesB's profile

LesB

1977 posts in 3714 days


#12 posted 02-09-2019 06:16 PM

I may check it out but I notice it is not water proof or for exterior use so I will probably stick to Tightbond III

-- Les B, Oregon

View WoodenDreams's profile

WoodenDreams

457 posts in 181 days


#13 posted 02-10-2019 11:19 PM

I use primarily Titebond III, I have used The Titebond Quick and Thick a couple times when I didn’t want the glue to run on certain glue-ups. It had the results I was hoping for. It’s nice to have a small bottle of this glue on hand, in case you need a glue that doesn’t run. I’ll still use Titebond III as my primary glue.

View htl's profile

htl

4468 posts in 1430 days


#14 posted 02-14-2019 12:53 AM

Robscastle You better stay away from super glue then or you’ll be gluing your fingers to your chin.

Hmmm what do I need to do next. :-[

-- An Index Of My Model making Blogs http://lumberjocks.com/htl/blog/116729

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com