LumberJocks

My new favorite glue

  • Advertise with us
Review by JCD posted 02-06-2019 05:43 AM 1509 views 0 times favorited 16 comments Add to Favorites Watch
My new favorite glue My new favorite glue No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Ok. Maybe a review on glue isn’t the most thrilling, but after doing a couple rooms of custom window trim, building a kitchen peninsula with cabinets, and making some custom cabinet molding with corbels and cove molding, I’ve found a new best friend to companion my kreg jig and pin nailer.

Found it at Menards (not carried at my Lowe’s) and have found what I believe is that perfect, thick (not runny), glue that dries fast (but not so fast I couldn’t get my clamps in place and adjusted). I hope this stuff stays around because I plan on using it on everything where I don’t want massive glue drips (so basically everything). Thought I’d pass along my experience.




View JCD's profile

JCD

21 posts in 2218 days



16 comments so far

View ScottKaye's profile

ScottKaye

745 posts in 2255 days


#1 posted 02-06-2019 12:13 PM

is it a PVA or glue or maybe even CA?

-- "Nothing happens until you build it"

View BHZ's profile

BHZ

21 posts in 1281 days


#2 posted 02-06-2019 01:51 PM

View cmmyakman's profile

cmmyakman

227 posts in 2959 days


#3 posted 02-06-2019 02:27 PM

I hadn’t heard of it – thank you for the information.

-- You can't fail if you don't give up.

View Gene Howe's profile

Gene Howe

11333 posts in 3731 days


#4 posted 02-06-2019 03:00 PM

Thanks for the info. I’ll give it a shot.

-- Gene 'The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.' G. K. Chesterton

View fivecodys's profile

fivecodys

1376 posts in 1939 days


#5 posted 02-06-2019 04:48 PM

I will have to give that a try.
Thank you for the review.

-- When you leave your shop for the night, make sure you can always count to 10.

View mel52's profile

mel52

736 posts in 567 days


#6 posted 02-06-2019 06:56 PM

Same as the others, haven’t heard of it and may have to give it a try…Mel

-- MEL, Kansas

View SenecaWoodArt's profile

SenecaWoodArt

444 posts in 1922 days


#7 posted 02-07-2019 05:39 PM

It is really Titebond’s Trim glue that has been renamed. It has been around for a while. I have to order it from Amazon as no local dealer carries it. I have been using it for over a year now and the only complaint that I have is that it is a lot more expensive than Titebond II or III. But if you need a faster glue up, then this is your friend.

-- Bob

View DannyW's profile

DannyW

83 posts in 100 days


#8 posted 02-07-2019 08:44 PM

Thanks for the review, I will have to try it out.

-- -DannyW

View hikerdoc's profile

hikerdoc

3 posts in 1493 days


#9 posted 02-08-2019 06:27 AM

Is it possible to search for a specific project on Lumberjocks as in pub table. When I use the search engine on right side of page it throws me out to the search results not specific to Lumberjocks.

View robscastle's profile

robscastle

5734 posts in 2507 days


#10 posted 02-08-2019 10:48 AM

Dont need it!
I am slower than the slowest setting glue anyway and definately thicker than anything else on this planet.

-- Regards Rob

View BB1's profile

BB1

1338 posts in 1150 days


#11 posted 02-09-2019 03:07 AM

I agree with the benefits this thicker glue can offer. I have used this glue for a while and really like it for smaller projects.

View LesB's profile

LesB

2009 posts in 3745 days


#12 posted 02-09-2019 06:16 PM

I may check it out but I notice it is not water proof or for exterior use so I will probably stick to Tightbond III

-- Les B, Oregon

View WoodenDreams's profile

WoodenDreams

511 posts in 213 days


#13 posted 02-10-2019 11:19 PM

I use primarily Titebond III, I have used The Titebond Quick and Thick a couple times when I didn’t want the glue to run on certain glue-ups. It had the results I was hoping for. It’s nice to have a small bottle of this glue on hand, in case you need a glue that doesn’t run. I’ll still use Titebond III as my primary glue.

View htl's profile (online now)

htl

4546 posts in 1462 days


#14 posted 02-14-2019 12:53 AM

Robscastle You better stay away from super glue then or you’ll be gluing your fingers to your chin.

Hmmm what do I need to do next. :-[

-- An Index Of My Model making Blogs http://lumberjocks.com/htl/blog/116729

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11836 posts in 3990 days


#15 posted 02-23-2019 07:40 PM

Thanks for the glue review. : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

showing 1 through 15 of 16 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com