LumberJocks

Veritas Inset Vise

  • Advertise with us
Review by DreganTepis posted 12-18-2017 09:28 PM 4582 views 1 time favorited 13 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Veritas Inset Vise Veritas Inset Vise No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Item Page

I’ve been asked several times about this vise, as it’s been seen in my pictures. So I decided to write this up.

Installation was very easy! A router with a fence and a long straight bit will have this installed in under an hour. Just use the included dimensions, and don’t forget the through-holes so dust has somewhere to go.

I’ve used this on 4 projects now since installing it last summer. The multiple jaws (including ones you can make) are great, the install was easy, and it works well for planning and joinery.

I like it a lot, but there is a cutoff point in use. It’s not a powerhouse. I use it to hold things in place, not as an extra clamp. It has an aluminum carriage, and a steel screw. I could see it being damaged from over tightening. If you stay within that limitation you’ll love it. If you tend to crank on things, this probably isn’t for you.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.




View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

87 posts in 1395 days



13 comments so far

View Hazem's profile

Hazem

260 posts in 2131 days


#1 posted 12-19-2017 07:36 PM

Great bench.

I’m thinking of getting this vise to hold boards while planing. Is it strong enough to do that?

Thanks.

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

87 posts in 1395 days


#2 posted 12-19-2017 07:39 PM


Great bench.

I m thinking of getting this vise to hold boards while planing. Is it strong enough to do that?

Thanks.

- Hazem

Absolutely. Its plenty strong for normal operations, I just don’t expect it to survive trying to get pipe-clamp force from it. Though in most cases a planing stop is all that’s required. Look towards the left end of the bench for the Veritas one I use.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

View Hazem's profile

Hazem

260 posts in 2131 days


#3 posted 12-20-2017 04:49 PM

Thank you. I’ll give this vise serious consideration.

God bless.

View Smitty_Cabinetshop's profile

Smitty_Cabinetshop

16940 posts in 3502 days


#4 posted 12-20-2017 04:56 PM

This review is interesting, as I considered adding this vise to my bench long ago. Thanks for posting.

-- Don't anthropomorphize your handplanes. They hate it when you do that. - OldTools Archive -

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

87 posts in 1395 days


#5 posted 12-20-2017 05:01 PM



This review is interesting, as I considered adding this vise to my bench long ago. Thanks for posting.

- Smitty_Cabinetshop

Thanks… I am obviously not a writer, and its a vise so there’s not a lot to say… but so many people asked about it. If there’s anything I can add to make it better please let me know.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

View Scan's profile

Scan

4 posts in 1001 days


#6 posted 01-29-2018 03:29 AM

I was just admiring how beautiful your workbench is. It’s a work of art in it’s self

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

87 posts in 1395 days


#7 posted 01-29-2018 03:00 PM



I was just admiring how beautiful your workbench is. It s a work of art in it s self

- Scan

Thank you sir! There’s a post in my projects about it.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

View Haisam's profile

Haisam

3 posts in 176 days


#8 posted 05-03-2020 01:32 PM

Hi, thank you for sharing. I was thinking about including this vise in my project, but I’m a bit afraid of having a piece of naked iron right on the bench. Didn’t you ever risk to hit it with the plane when planing along the grain? Thanks

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

87 posts in 1395 days


#9 posted 05-04-2020 01:35 PM



Hi, thank you for sharing. I was thinking about including this vise in my project, but I m a bit afraid of having a piece of naked iron right on the bench. Didn t you ever risk to hit it with the plane when planing along the grain? Thanks

- Haisam

Good morning! I haven’t come close to hitting it in 3 years. The vise instructions call for it to be mounted slightly below the surface so that when you flatten your bench, you don’t hit it. After a few fastenings, you may need to deepen the mortises, but after a few years I still haven’t needed to do that. The stops are removable, and they have a second short one for thinner stock. Hope this helps.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

View Dave Polaschek's profile

Dave Polaschek

6007 posts in 1466 days


#10 posted 05-04-2020 03:27 PM

Thanks for reviewing this. I bought one of these vises before moving, and still need to get it installed into my bench. Your review just might be the reminder I needed to get a round tuit

-- Dave - Santa Fe

View Haisam's profile

Haisam

3 posts in 176 days


#11 posted 05-04-2020 09:49 PM


Hi, thank you for sharing. I was thinking about including this vise in my project, but I m a bit afraid of having a piece of naked iron right on the bench. Didn t you ever risk to hit it with the plane when planing along the grain? Thanks

- Haisam

Good morning! I haven t come close to hitting it in 3 years. The vise instructions call for it to be mounted slightly below the surface so that when you flatten your bench, you don t hit it. After a few fastenings, you may need to deepen the mortises, but after a few years I still haven t needed to do that. The stops are removable, and they have a second short one for thinner stock. Hope this helps.

- DreganTepis

Hi, just my last question. If I don’t bother. But it’s my last of course… cause there are a lot of opinions around. I just went into this video that worried me… I would like to know your experience about this cause you just seem to be a wiser person…. thanks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86qYRKxL2WA

View DreganTepis's profile

DreganTepis

87 posts in 1395 days


#12 posted 05-04-2020 10:03 PM


Hi, just my last question. If I don t bother. But it s my last of course… cause there are a lot of opinions around. I just went into this video that worried me… I would like to know your experience about this cause you just seem to be a wiser person…. thanks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86qYRKxL2WA

- Haisam

No problem, ask away. I am just guessing here, and wouldn’t want to insinuate anything I can’t know. But the pins and screw are steel, but the carriage body is aluminum. If I had to guess, the one in the video has been cranked pretty hard, and elongated the pin-holes in the body. Like I said in my review… if your using it to hold work still, then it’s fine. I haven’t had this happen in 3 years of ownership.

-- Red pencil, red marker, marking knife... doesn't mater, the wood will end up the same color.

View Haisam's profile

Haisam

3 posts in 176 days


#13 posted 05-04-2020 10:15 PM

Hi, just my last question. If I don t bother. But it s my last of course… cause there are a lot of opinions around. I just went into this video that worried me… I would like to know your experience about this cause you just seem to be a wiser person…. thanks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86qYRKxL2WA

- Haisam

No problem, ask away. I am just guessing here, and wouldn t want to insinuate anything I can t know. But the pins and screw are steel, but the carriage body is aluminum. If I had to guess, the one in the video has been cranked pretty hard, and elongated the pin-holes in the body. Like I said in my review… if your using it to hold work still, then it s fine. I haven t had this happen in 3 years of ownership.

- DreganTepis

Ok, that’s what I wanted to hear… If you treat things for what they’re meant to, and take care of them, they over last. Thanks for your contribution DreganTepis.

Haitham Jaber, Rome

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com