Widdershins Joinery Blog #2: About My Blog

  • Advertise with us
Blog entry by WiddershinsJoinery posted 09-09-2014 10:53 PM 1441 reads 0 times favorited 0 comments Add to Favorites Watch
« Part 1: I Believe Introductions Are In Order! :D Part 2 of Widdershins Joinery Blog series Part 3: About My Shop »

This blog is all about my work in my shop, detailing the trials and tribulations I experience there. I had been a woodworker, in the most peripheral sense, most of my life. Typical outport kind, I guess, building things with Dad out in the garage. I’ve built a significant portion of sheds, cottages, decks, installed windows, doors, siding, poured concrete, worked on asphalt, etc, etc, ad nausium. It’s all good though, Woodworking (as just one of my many hobbies) quiets a part of my soul that needed some pacification, and my great big workshop fills that void nicely.

My name is Robin Gosse, I was born at the original Sir Thomas Roddick Hospital in Stephenville, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada. I grew up all over the Western Coast of this beautiful island, having lived in Stephenville, Port Aux Basques, Pasadena, Meadows, Corner Brook, St. David’s, Englee and most recently, Roddickton-Bide Arm up in the Great Northern Peninsula of the Island portion of Newfoundland and Labrador. I met the woman I would marry in June 2012, proposed just before Christmas of that year and married her the following summer, August 23rd, 2013. We moved to Englee in pursuit of her job as a Junior High School English Teacher at H. G. Fillier and rented an apartment in that particularly beautiful community. It didn’t take us long to fall in love with the place, and taking one of the biggest gambles since our marriage, we bought a house in the nearby community of Bide Arm (Having Amalgamated into Roddickton in 2009, ala Roddickton-Bide Arm). I live every day thanking any deity that will listen for the blessings that we had received, with two beautiful puppeh fur-babies, Grim and Ruby, and many friends that are so dear to our hearts.

I come from a diverse family, involving nurses, preachers, Canadian Forces Personnel and business people. My parents believed strongly in giving myself and my two older brothers the power to choose, and were staunchly pro-education. That said, I’ve accumulated some pretty expensive pieces of paper over an 11-year post-secondary career. Including a 2-year Computer Science program, 90% of a 3-year Civil Engineering program, a Bachelors of Arts in Psychology, enough electives to cover half a Bachelors of Environmental Economics and I was working on a PhD of Agricultural Science before I met the most welcome distraction of my life, Sarah. Now I monitor fishermen and play in my Garage, and I can’t even say I’m disappointed!

Currently, I work with a company that is contracted by the government of Newfoundland and Labrador to oversee fishing code compliance aboard the small (under 65’) boats during our 5-6 month fishing season. While it’s a good gig, with paid travel and not unkind pay scales, I long for the winter when I get to get a nice fire going in the wood furnace, play with sharp things in my garage by day, and dote upon my wife by night. I’m blessed, and I know I am. I just felt you should all get to know a little bit about how lucky we scored it. After so many years of discomfort in previous relationships, Sarah and I finally found a place to belong.

0 comments so far

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics