LumberJocks

TheFridge's Woodworking Reviews

  • Advertise with us
View TheFridge's:homeworkshopprojects (42)blog (9)reviews (13)forum topics (11)buddies (54)favorites (21)activity logWatch
Veritas flat and round bottom spokeshaves w A2 irons

Veritas flat and round bottom spokeshaves w A2 irons

08-02-2016 11:29 PM by TheFridge | 10 comments »

I’ve used them on a set of chairs and some other odds and ends. The fit and finish of veritas stuff is top notch and these work as advertised.

Read this review »


Narex Half Round Fine Cut Rasp- great value

Narex Half Round Fine Cut Rasp- great value

08-02-2016 08:20 PM by TheFridge | 10 comments »

Ive used it to shape a couple tote repairs and the odd piece or 2 for a project. Solid tool. No complaints for a 25$ rasp.

Read this review »


Lie-Nielsen Tapered dovetail saw

Lie-Nielsen Tapered dovetail saw

08-02-2016 08:06 PM by TheFridge | 1 comment »

I’ve had it for about a year and it’s my go to joinery saw. It was a little grabby at first and I struggled with it starting. After a short amount of use it lost the grab and started performing like a champ. The only replacement I would ever get would be a Summerfield saw from Bob Summerfield at RMSaws.com

Read this review »


Lie-Nielsen 40-1/2 Scrub Plane

Lie-Nielsen 40-1/2 Scrub Plane

08-02-2016 07:42 PM by TheFridge | 6 comments »

I’ve been using a heavily cambered #5 as a scrub. It was ok. I looked for a 40-1/2 on eBay for awhile but got tired of waiting for a deal so I got the LN version. I’ve been happy with it so far. I kinda prefer it to a bench plane with a cambered iron.

Read this review »


Lie-Nielsen Beveled Edge Socket Chisels

Lie-Nielsen Beveled Edge Socket Chisels

07-18-2016 11:30 PM by TheFridge | 7 comments »

I tried one 1/2” chisel to see what the brand was all about. Now I have a 5 pc set with 2 skews and a fishtail. And a few planes as well. they take an edge and hold it well. I have no complaints about the tool or the price

Read this review »


Veritas skew rabbet block plane

Veritas skew rabbet block plane

07-18-2016 11:09 PM by TheFridge | 6 comments »

I wanted a skew rabbet plane for crossgrain rabbets and cleaning up tenon cheeks. This one fit the bill. It takes a lot of fettling at first but once it’s set it so easy to sharpen and get back to work. I’d definitely recommend it

Read this review »


Lie-Nielsen no 2

Lie-Nielsen no 2

07-18-2016 10:13 PM by TheFridge | 5 comments »

After watching this video https://youtu.be/56DpxEOpxz0 I decided to get a no2 to use as a block plane to help control tearout issues I was having my block and to use on smaller pieces. Haven’t had it long but it’s everything I wanted.

Read this review »


14" crosscut backsaw by Bob Summerfield

14" crosscut backsaw by Bob Summerfield

07-18-2016 10:01 PM by TheFridge | 19 comments »

I needed a crosscut saw and wanted it with very specific specs and Bob was more than happy to make whatever I wanted. So I sent him a chunk of walnut for the handle and he went to work. 14” brass backed crosscut sash saw at 12 ppi courtesy of Bob Summerfield at RMSaws.com It works as good as it looks and I plan on getting another with the same specs but in a rip pattern.

Read this review »


Lie-Nielsen no 4 1/2 with 55 degree frog

Lie-Nielsen no 4 1/2 with 55 degree frog

07-18-2016 09:37 PM by TheFridge | 14 comments »

My first LN plane I bought it with a 55 degree frog to work heavily figured and prone to tear out. It’s been a dream. Works just as good on straight grained wood as well.

Read this review »


Woodstock cross slide vise

Woodstock cross slide vise

03-08-2015 05:59 AM by TheFridge | 6 comments »

Terrible machining but can be made to function decently with some scraping, filing and sanding.

Read this review »


1 2 next »
13 reviews


DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com